Sutton County is located on the Edwards Plateau in southwestern Texas surrounded by Schleicher County on the north, Kimble County on the east, Edwards County on the south, Val Verde County on the southwest and Crockett County on the west. Sonora, the county seat is about 100 miles northeast of Del Rio and about 170 miles northwest of San Antonio.

Cities, Towns and Communities

Fort Terrett | Owenville | Sonora – county seat


Sutton County was created April 1, 1887, from the county of Crockett, and was organized November 4, 1890. One of the branches of the Llano River crosses its eastern half, and the Devil’s River flows across the western end of the county. From an agricultural stand­ point the county has made but little progress. The population is sparse, about one person to the square mile, and without railroads and convenient markets for soil products there has been but small encouragement to till the soil. The stockmen in recent years have undertaken the raising of feed stuffs for their cattle, sheep and goats, and irrigation has been confined to the watering of gardens. Continue Reading Sutton County History Written in 1922 >>


Sonora, TX 30° 34′ 0.6528″ N, 100° 38′ 36.3372″ W