Red River County, Texas

Red River County is separated from Oklahoma by the Red River and from Arkansas by Bowie County. Clarksville, the county seat and largest town, is sixty miles northwest of Texarkana.

Cities, Towns & Communities

Annona (Walker Station) | Avery | Bagwell | Bogata | Clarksville – county seat| Detroit | Deport (mostly in Lamar County) | English | Madras (La Grange) | Maple


Red River County’s current courthouse was built in 1885. It is the fifth courthouse to serve the county. Earlier courthouses were built in 1830 in Jonesboro, 1840 in La Grange (now Madras), and 1852-1853 in Clarksville.

Red River County Courthouse. Records date from 1836. Fifth courthouse for county. Built 1885. Italian Renaissance design. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark. Historical marker text, 1966.

More on the Red River County Courthouse

Red River County Courthouse
County Clerk – Lorie Baird
North Walnut Street
Clarksville, TX 75426
Phone: 903-427-2401
Fax: 903-427-3589

Red River County Government Website


Red River County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.

Gateway to Texas, History of Red River County, by Martha Sue Stroud. information

Reflections of Red River County 1830’s-1890 by Marion Butts. Available from the Red River Co Genealogy Society

Burials, Cemetery and Death Records for Red River County, Texas by Lawrence and Sue Dale. This book and two other Red River County Cemetery books Available from the authors.

Bible Records of Red River County, Texas Genealogical Members, Volume 1. Bible Records of the following families: Meyer, Lee, Turk, Myers, McCain, Low, Jones, McCuiston, Hall, Johnson, Pinson, Young, Strawn, Turner, Rose, Seale, Smith, Claiborne, Williams, Dyers, Strange, Benton and Hufford. Available from the Red River County Texas Genealogical Society


Red River County Public Library
307 N Walnut St
Clarksville, TX 75426
(903) 427-3991 website

Red River County TXGenWeb site

Red River County, TX Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 516
Clarksville, TX 75426-2720


Clarksville, TX 33° 36′ 38.394″ N, 95° 3′ 9.7992″ W