Rains County, Texas

Rains County is in northeast Texas on the upper reaches of the Sabine River. It is bordered by Hunt, Hopkins, Wood, and Van Zandt counties.

Cities, Towns & Communities

Alba | Dougherty | East Tawakoni | Emory (Springville) – county seat | Flats | Point


Rains County’s first courthouse was a log building. It was used until a two-room courthouse was built in 1871; this second courthouse burned in 1879. The log building was again used as a temporary courthouse until two-story building could be built in 1884. The 1884 courthouse burned in 1908. Rains County’s current courthouse, shown at right from a 1940s postcard, is the Fourth Courthouse. It was built in 1908. Second photo, from TexasEscapes.com shows the courthouse after remodelling.

Rains County Courthouse
167 E. Quitman Street
P. O. Box 158
Emory, Texas 75440
Rains County Government Website


County Histories

Early Days in Texas and Rains County, 1917 by William Oscar Hebison and Ambrose Fitzgerald. Read the book online at archive.org>>

100th Anniversary of Rains County, 1970

Rains County History from the Handbook of Texas Online


Rains County Leader Newspaper


Emory, TX 32° 52′ 28.4376″ N, 95° 45′ 55.8648″ W