El Paso County, Texas

El Paso County is the westernmost county of Texas. Bounded on the southwest by the Rio Grande and Mexico, on the north and west by the state of New Mexico, and on the east by Hudspeth County, Texas, El Paso County is approximately 650 miles west of Dallas and 575 miles northwest of San Antonio. El Paso County and neighboring Hudspeth County are the only Texas counties on Mountain Time.

Cities, Towns & Communities

Anthony | Clint | El Paso – county seat | Fabens | Horizon City | San Elizario | Socorro | Vinton | Ysleta


El Paso County 1922. While the Texas Republic, after winning its independence in 1836, claimed the Rio Grande as its boundary from the mouth through all its sinuous course to the West and North, even beyond the City of Santa Fe in what is now New Mexico, and the Santa Fe expedition of 1841 was projected to establish the authority of the Republic in that quarter, this jurisdiction was really nominal and it required the success of the arms of the United States during the Mexican war of 1846-48 to actually establish the Rio Grande as the international border north and west to the 32° of latitude. Thus, that portion of Texas sometimes known as the. Western Panhandle, and included between the Pecos and Rio Grande and the line of New Mexico on the north, was a Mexican territory, inhabited almost entirely by Mexican people, until the forces of the United States invaded it at the time of the Mexican war and subsequently established their various military posts in that region, including Fort Bliss, Fort Davis and Fort Stockton.

In 1850 the Texas Legislature divided the Trans-Pecos country into two immense counties; El Paso and Presidio counties. El Paso County included the extreme western corner of the state, with an area of over 8,000 square miles, and this immense territory was reduced by the formation of Culberson County from its eastern half in 1911. In 1917 the county was reduced more than one-half by the creation of Hudspeth, which was organized, with Sierra Blanca as the county seat. Continue Reading El Paso County History Written in 1922 >>

El Paso County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.


El Paso County has had three county seats. Continue reading about El Paso County Courthouses >>

County Histories

The City and county of El Paso, Texas : containing useful and reliable information concerning the future great metropolis of the Southwest … 1886, El Paso Bureau of Information. Digital book online from archive.org.

The Land Where We Live: El Paso del Norte, 1973, by Conrey Bryson.

Pass of the North: Four Centuries on the Rio Grande, 2 vols., 1968, 1980, by Charles Leland Sonnichsen.

El Paso: A Borderlands History, 1990, by W. H. Timmons.

Souvenir of the city of El Paso, Texas. Photo-gravures. Digital book online at archive.org.

San Elizario, 1973, by Eugene O. Porter.

The El Paso Salt War, 1877, published in 1957 by Charles Leland Sonnichsen. Digital book on line at archive.org.

Forty years at El Paso, 1858-1898; recollections of war, politics, adventure, events, narratives, sketches, etc., 1901 by W. W. Mills Digital book online at The Portal to Texas History.

Vital Records

El Paso County Death Records Search from EPCounty.com, the official county government website.

El Paso County Birth Records Search from EPCounty.com, the official county government website.

El Paso County Marriage Records Search from EPCounty.com, the official county government website


El Paso, TX 31° 45′ 31.392″ N, 106° 29′ 12.9516″ W