Ector County, Texas

Cities, Towns & Communities

Doura | Gardendale | Goldsmith | Metz | Notrees | Odessa (county seat; partly in Midland County) | Penwell | Pleasant Farms | West Odessa


Ector County History 1922. The Texas & Pacific Railway passes diagonally through Ector County, and soon after that road was completed, in 1881, three stations were established within the present limits of Ector CountyOdessa, now the county seat, Doura and Metz. These were the shipping stations for stock gathered from the surrounding ranges and points of receipt for supplies to the ranchmen, who in scattered numbers occupied all the country on both sides of the railroad. Off the railroad no other towns have been established in thirty years, and the level plains and breaks of the county have never had any important use except for the grazing of live stock. Continue Reading Ector County History Written in 1922 >>


Odessa, TX 31° 50′ 44.4552″ N, 102° 22′ 3.5148″ W